IXth Sustainable Mountain Development Summit

The Integrated Mountain Initiative (IMI) is holding the IXth Sustainable Mountain Development Summit (SMDS) from 11th to 14th December 2020. The range of themes includes migration and local economies, water security and climate-resilient future, innovative solutions for the farm sector, disaster risk reduction and climate-resilient future, digital opportunities, and green future.  


The registration link is: https://e3170.hubilo.com/community/#/login


The broad sessions and panelists for each day are:


11th December – Day 1 


Time: 3 PM to 4.30 PM


Welcoming session with speakers as eminent as Dr. Rajendra Dobhal, President of SDFU; Shri P. D. Rai, President of IMI; Dr. Eklabya Sharma, DDG of ICIMOD; Shri Conrad K. Sangma, Honorable Chief Minister of Meghalaya and Shri Trivendra Singh Rawat, Honorable Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.


Time: 4.40 PM to 6.10 PM 


Theme of the Session: Migration and Local Economies


Session on Migration and Local Economies with panelists Prof. B K Joshi, Former Chairperson of State Finance Commission, GoUK; Ms. Namrata Rawat, Ph.D. Candidate from the University of Bonn; Dr. Dolly Kikon, Senior Lecturer, University of Melbourne, Australia; Mr. Mhathung Kithan, Project Director of Nagaland GIS Centre, Government of Nagaland; Dr. Vijay Mahajan, CEO & Director of Rajiv Gandhi Foundation, Ms. Nanki Kaur, Regional Programme Manager of ICIMOD; and Alemtemshi Jamir, CEO of Investment & Development Authority of Nagaland (IDAN).

12th December – Day 2


Time: 3 PM to 4.30 PM


Theme of the Session: Water Security and Climate Resilient Future for IHR


Session on Water Security and Climate-Resilient Future with speakers Mr. STS Lepcha, IFS, and Ex-PCCF (Rtd.) Govt. of Uttarakhand;  Dr. Mustafa Khan, Team Leader SCA Himalayas at Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation; Mr. Sanjeev Bhuchar, Senior Watershed Management Specialist, ICIMOD; Mr. Ramesh Negi, Councillor, IMI, and Former CEO, Delhi Jal Board; Dr. Sunesh Sharma, Team Leader-WaSH at Himmotthan Society;  Ms. Sentimongla Kechuchar, State Coordinator, North East Initiative Development Agency (NEIDA); Dr. Vinay Sinha, Associate Professor, TERI School of Advanced Studies (TERI SAS); and Mr. Vinod Kothari, Tata Trusts & Member Secretary of Springshed Management Consortium (SMC) – Uttarakhand.

Time: 3 PM to 4.30 PM


Theme of the Session: Innovative Solutions for the farm sector


Session on Innovative Solutions for the Farm Sector with panelists Dr. R S Rawal,  Director of GBPIHED; Mr. Bhawesh Niroula of Niroula Tea;  Mr. Phurpa Tsering from Norphel;  Ms. Sana Masood from Farm2u; Mr. Nitin Dayalu from Old Hill; Mr. Neichute Doulo from Entrepreneurs Associates; and Ms. Binita Shah, CEO of SARG.

Time: 4.40 PM to 6.45 PM


Theme of the Session: Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) and Climate-resilient future for IHR


Session on Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) and Climate-resilient Future for IHR with speakers Mr Praful Rao, Founder of Save the Hills in Kalimpong, West Bengal;  Dr. Kalachand Sain, Director of Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun; Dr. Lalrokima Chenkual, Assistant Director, Disaster Management and Rehab Dept, Mizoram; Mr. Johnny Ruangmei, Officer on Special Duty, Nagaland State Disaster Management Authority; Dr. RK Bhandari, Chairman, Forum on Disaster Mitigation, INAE; Dr. Surya Prakash, Professor and Head, GMR Division, National Institute of Disaster Management; Dr. Dave Petley, Professor & VicePresident for Innovation, University of Sheffield; Dr. KR Vishwanathan, Lead Scientist, Project Landslip; Ms. Priyadarshinee Shrestha, Secretary IMI & Team Leader, WWF India; and Mr. Roshan Rai, Councillor IMI & Development Professional, DLR Prerna.


Time: 4.40 PM to 6.45 PM


Theme of the session: Digital Opportunities & Green Future


Session on Digital Opportunities & Green Future with speakers Mr. Sushil Ramola, Former President, IMI and Founder and Chairman of B-ABLE; Mr. Abhishek Singh, President & CEO, National e-Governance Division (NeGD); Mr. Osama Manzar, Founder-Director, Digital Empowerment Foundation; Mr. Vishal Amaravat, COO, B-ABLE; Mr. Karma Bhutia, Tech Entrepreneur, Founder, Ishippo; Mr. Dina Changte, King Industries, Mizoram (TBC); and Ms. Jyotsna Sitling, PCCF, Van Panchayat, Government of Uttarakhand.


13th December – Day 3


Time: 2 PM to 4 PM


Theme of the Session: Institutional strengthening, forging partnerships and funding opportunities  


Session on Institutional Strengthening, Forging Partnerships and Funding Opportunities with speakers Ms. Bharti Gupta Ramola, Former Markets Leader, PwC India; Mr. Venkatraman Umakanth, Futureskills NASSCOM; Dr. Madhu Verma, Chief Economist, World Resources Institute; Mr. Dinesh Pant, Chairman, The Nainital Bank; Dr. Kalachand Sain, Director Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun; Mr. Pramath Raj Sinha, Co-founder, Naropa Fellowship; and Mr. Dwarika Prasad Uniyal, Dean, Faculty of Business, FLAME University.


Time: 4.10 Pm to 6.10 PM


Theme of the Session: Mountain Legislator’s Meet


Session on Mountain Legislator’s Meet with panelists Mr. P.D. Rai, President of IMI and Former MP (Lok Sabha), Sikkim; Mr. Vincent Pala, Hon’ble MP (Shillong); Dr. K. Srinath Reddy, President of PHFI; Mr. Hari Nair, Founder of Holiday IQ and Tourism sector Thought Leader; Ms. Fantry Jaswal, Former Secretary, IMI and IRS (Retd.); and Dr. Rajendra Dhobal, Vice President of IMI and Director-General of UCOST.


14th December – Day 4


Time: 3 PM to 5.30 PM


Theme of the Session: Dr. R.S. Tolia Memorial Lecture & Award; & Valedictory session


Dr. R.S. Tolia Memorial Lecture, Award, and Valedictory Session with speakers Dr. R.S. Rawal, Director, GBPNIHESD; Dr. Rajendra Dobhal, Chairman, SDFU; Dr. Indu Kumar Pandey, Chairman 14th State Financial Commission and Former CS, GoUK; Ms. Fantry Mein Jaswal, Former Secretary, IMI; Dr. Ajay Rawat, winner of Dr. R.S.T. Award 2020; Ms Priyadarshinee Shrestha, Secretary, IMI; Dr. Lalbiakmawia Ngente,  Councilor, IMI; and Mr. Krishna Rautela, SDFU Member.


For more information on the summit, you can also click here and check the brochure of the summit. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *